Skip to content

Access Synology disk station behind a proxy

February 6, 2012

Source:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/security/security-howto/30362-how-to-securely-web-browse-via-an-ssh-tunnel

As a I said in my previous post, situation 2, I defined in my router a virtual server for public port 443 and internal port 22. Thus, I can SSH my Synology through port 443 that I presume is open in any company proxy (or not?). Of course, you should enable SSH in DSM interface.

As SSH client I use XShell and the following print screens present the settings for SSH client in order to use socks proxy.

Firefox settings for using proxy:

Now you can surf on Internet (on Firefox) using your Internet provider at premises where the Synology disk station is connected. Also, you can SSH your Synology DS and access your router or DSM (in Firefox address bar just enter the private IP address of your router or DSM).

Hope is a useful shortcut of the mentioned source applied to Synology.

No comments yet

Leave a comment